Oxted Line

From TrainSpottingWorld, for Rail fans everywhere
Oxted Line
Stations (from north to south)
             South Croydon
  Upper Warlingham
  Hurst Green
Lingfield Edenbridge Town
Dormans Hever
East Grinstead    Cowden

The Oxted Line is a railway line in southern England. It was originally operated jointly by the London, Brighton and South Coast Railway and the South Eastern Railway. It is now part of the Southern franchise.

The line diverges from the London to Brighton main line at South Croydon. At Hurst Green it splits, one branch terminating at East Grinstead, the other at Uckfield.

Both branches formerly continued further:

North of Sanderstead, at the former Selsdon railway station, there was until 1983 a connection with the former Woodside and South Croydon Joint line to Elmers End. Between Hurst Green and Lingfield there was a connection with the Redhill to Tonbridge Line.

At Eridge there is intended to be a connection with the preserved Spa Valley Railway Tunbridge Wells and Eridge Line.

The line between Croydon and East Grinstead was opened as the Croydon, Oxted & East Grinstead Railway (a joint venture between the LBSCR and the SER) on 10 March 1884. In part it used trackbed constructed for, but never used by, the abortive Surrey and Sussex Junction Railway in the 1860s.

The East Grinstead branch was electrified in 1987 (750v DC third rail). The Uckfield branch is not electrified, and is worked by Class 171 diesel multiple units (which replaced the Class 205 and Class 207 DEMUs previously in use on the line).


David Gould, The Croydon, Oxted & East Grinstead Railway. Oakwood Press, 2003. ISBN 0-85361-598-5.

External links

Railway lines in South-East England:
Main lines:   Arun Valley Line   Ashford via Maidstone East Line   Ashford-Ramsgate via Canterbury Line   Brighton Main Line   Chatham Main Line   East Coastway   Hastings Line   Channel Tunnel Rail Link   Kent Coast Line   London–Ashford–Dover Line   North Downs Line   Portsmouth Direct Line   South Western Main Line   Thameslink   West Coastway   West of England Main Line
Commuter lines:   Alton Line   Ascot-Guildford Line   Bexleyheath Line   Caterham Line   Catford Loop   Chessington Branch   Dartford Loop   Eastleigh-Fareham Line   Eastleigh-Romsey Line   Greenwich Line   Hayes Line   Hounslow Loop   Mid-Kent Line   New Guildford Line   North Kent Line   Oxted Line   Sheerness Line   Slough-Windsor & Eton Line   South London Line   Staines-Windsor & Eton Line   Staines to Weybridge Line   Sutton Mole Valley Line   Tattenham Corner Line   Waterloo-Reading Line   West London Line
Rural lines:   Brockenhurst-Lymington Line   Henley Branch Line   Island Line   Marlow Branch Line   Marshlink Line   Medway Valley Line   Redhill-Tonbridge Line