Waterloo to Reading Line

From TrainSpottingWorld, for Rail fans everywhere
Waterloo to Reading Line
Principal stations

Clapham Junction
Virginia Water
Martins Heron
Winnersh Triangle

The Waterloo to Reading Line is a suburban railway line operated by South West Trains (SWT) in England. With its three connecting lines, it the most northern of the SWT franchise. The three lines are:

The routes

Dates of opening

  • the Reading line:
    • 27 July 1846: the Richmond Railway opened, purchased by London and South Western Railway (L&SWR) 1847
    • 22 August 1848: the Windsor, Staines and South Western Railway (WS&SWR) (under L&SWR auspices) extended the line to Staines and Datchet
    • 1 December 1849: extended to Windsor
    • 4 June 1856: the Staines, Wokingham and Woking Junction Railway (Staines - Ascot) opened, worked by the L&SWR
    • 9 July 1856: extended to Wokingham, the junction with the South Eastern Railway line to Reading, opened in 1849

This line was electrified (750v DC third rail) 30th January 1916 by LSWR.

  • the Hounslow Loop
    • 22 August 1849: Barnes to Isleworth opened by WS&SWR
    • 1 February 1850: completion of loop to Feltham Junction - junction facing eastwards
    • 1 January 1883: completion of triangular junction at Whitton to enable trains to travel eastwards to return to Waterloo

This line was electrified (750v DC third rail) 12th March 1916 by LSWR

  • the Chertsey branch
    • [[14 February] 1848: Weybridge to Chertsey opened
    • 1 October 1866: Chertsey to Virginia Water opened

This line was electrified (750v DC third rail) on 3rd January 1937 by Southern.

Railway lines in South-East England:
Main lines:   Arun Valley Line   Ashford via Maidstone East Line   Ashford-Ramsgate via Canterbury Line   Brighton Main Line   Chatham Main Line   East Coastway   Hastings Line   Channel Tunnel Rail Link   Kent Coast Line   London–Ashford–Dover Line   North Downs Line   Portsmouth Direct Line   South Western Main Line   Thameslink   West Coastway   West of England Main Line
Commuter lines:   Alton Line   Ascot-Guildford Line   Bexleyheath Line   Caterham Line   Catford Loop   Chessington Branch   Dartford Loop   Eastleigh-Fareham Line   Eastleigh-Romsey Line   Greenwich Line   Hayes Line   Hounslow Loop   Mid-Kent Line   New Guildford Line   North Kent Line   Oxted Line   Sheerness Line   Slough-Windsor & Eton Line   South London Line   Staines-Windsor & Eton Line   Staines to Weybridge Line   Sutton Mole Valley Line   Tattenham Corner Line   Waterloo-Reading Line   West London Line
Rural lines:   Brockenhurst-Lymington Line   Henley Branch Line   Island Line   Marlow Branch Line   Marshlink Line   Medway Valley Line   Redhill-Tonbridge Line