North Downs Line

From TrainSpottingWorld, for Rail fans everywhere
North Downs Line
Principal stations (from north to south)

Farnborough North
North Camp

Dorking West
Dorking (Deepdene)

The North Downs Line is the name of the passenger train service connecting Reading, on the Great Western Main Line, to Redhill, on the Brighton Main Line, linking many centres of population in that part of the North Downs that it traverses en route. Most lines in the area run radially to or from London, and this route is one of the few orbital lines, enabling it to be used for journeys from west to south of London without having to travel via the capital.

The service uses all or part of the following Network Rail routes:

The main services on the line are provided by First Great Western. Additional services are provided by:

The route is partially electrified (3rd rail, 750 V DC). Wokingham to Aldershot South junction and Shalford Junction to Reigate are not electrified ([1] and p42 Of the National Rail Route Plan [2] (9.4mb PDF)).

Typical off-peak journey times from Reading

Based on the December 2006 - May 2007 timetable.
Stations in italics are served in peak hours only.

Destination Semi-fast services (minutes) Stopping services (minutes) Frequency (trains per hour) Change for
Winnersh 7
Wokingham 9 9 2 London Waterloo via Bracknell and Staines
Crowthorne 14 1
Sandhurst 18 1
Blackwater 14 21 2
Farnborough North 26 1
North Camp 23 30 2
Ash 34 1 Aldershot, Farnham, Alton and Ascot
Wanborough 38
Guildford 34 45 2 London Waterloo and Portsmouth Harbour
Shalford 49 1
Chilworth 53 0.5
Gomshall 59 0.5
Dorking West 62 0.5
Dorking (Deepdene) 52 64 2
Betchworth 69 0.5
Reigate 60 74 2
Redhill 64 81 2 London Victoria, London Bridge and Tonbridge
Gatwick Airport 76 1 Eastbourne, Brighton and Littlehampton

Between Guildford and Redhill the off-peak stopping service pattern alternates every hour, giving Shalford an hourly service and Chilworth, Gomshall, Dorking West and Betchworth one train every two hours.

Hour 1 Guildford Shalford Chilworth Gomshall Dorking (Deepdene) Reigate Redhill
Hour 2 Guildford Shalford Dorking West Dorking (Deepdene) Betchworth Reigate Redhill

During peak hours the stopping service between Guildford and Redhill calls at all stations.

Railway lines in South-East England:
Main lines:   Arun Valley Line   Ashford via Maidstone East Line   Ashford-Ramsgate via Canterbury Line   Brighton Main Line   Chatham Main Line   East Coastway   Hastings Line   Channel Tunnel Rail Link   Kent Coast Line   London–Ashford–Dover Line   North Downs Line   Portsmouth Direct Line   South Western Main Line   Thameslink   West Coastway   West of England Main Line
Commuter lines:   Alton Line   Ascot-Guildford Line   Bexleyheath Line   Caterham Line   Catford Loop   Chessington Branch   Dartford Loop   Eastleigh-Fareham Line   Eastleigh-Romsey Line   Greenwich Line   Hayes Line   Hounslow Loop   Mid-Kent Line   New Guildford Line   North Kent Line   Oxted Line   Sheerness Line   Slough-Windsor & Eton Line   South London Line   Staines-Windsor & Eton Line   Staines to Weybridge Line   Sutton Mole Valley Line   Tattenham Corner Line   Waterloo-Reading Line   West London Line
Rural lines:   Brockenhurst-Lymington Line   Henley Branch Line   Island Line   Marlow Branch Line   Marshlink Line   Medway Valley Line   Redhill-Tonbridge Line