East Coastway Line

From TrainSpottingWorld, for Rail fans everywhere
East Coastway Line
Principal stations

(Brighton Main Line)
(Joins line from Brighton at Lewes)

London Road (Brighton)
(for Seaford branch — see below)
Hampden Park
(trains reverse via Hampden Park)
Pevensey & Westham
Pevensey Bay
Normans Bay
Cooden Beach
(Hastings Line joins the line)
St Leonards Warrior Square
(for Marshlink Line)

Seaford branch:
Newhaven Town
Newhaven Harbour

East Coastway is the name given by Southern Railway to the services operated from London Victoria along the south coast of Sussex and Kent to the east of Brighton, UK. Those to the West of Brighton from Victoria are named the West Coastway Line. The trains running under this name serve Brighton, Lewes, Eastbourne, Hastings and Ashford. Southern Railway was formerly South Central Trains.

Most of the lines operating within East Coastway were originally built by the London, Brighton and South Coast Railway; the line between St Leonards Warrior Square and Ashford by the South Eastern Railway.

Initially the services use the Brighton Main Line route; at Keymer Junction, south of Wivelsfield they turn off in a south-easterly direction. Stations along the route are then

Continuing the main route:

  • Glynde
  • Berwick
  • Polegate
    • here the route to Eridge via Hailsham diverged to the north. Beyond the station was a triangular junction allowing direct access to Hastings. This is now closed, and all trains run into Eastbourne and reverse to continue their journey. On the top part of the triangle was once:
  • Stone Cross Halt - now closed
    • the line to Eastbourne continues southwards:
  • Hampden Park
  • Eastbourne: a terminus.
    • from here trains reverse through Hampden Park, and continue east at Willingdon Junction
  • Pevensey
  • Pevensey Bay this station was originally opened as a halt
  • Normans Bay this station was originally opened as a halt
  • Cooden Beach
  • Collington this station was originally opened as a halt, being named in turn Collington Wood Halt; West Bexhill Halt; and Collington Halt
  • Bexhill
  • St Leonards (West Marina) closed 1967
  • St Leonards (Warrior Square)
  • Hastings
    • Trains from London continue beyond Hastings to Ore where there are extensive carriage sidings, although the remainder of the East Coastway line to Ashford is named the Marshlink Line.

Passenger services are operated by Southern (formerly South Central Trains). The line was electrified by Southern at 750v DC (third rail) during the interwar years.

External link

Railway lines in South-East England:
Main lines:   Arun Valley Line   Ashford via Maidstone East Line   Ashford-Ramsgate via Canterbury Line   Brighton Main Line   Chatham Main Line   East Coastway   Hastings Line   Channel Tunnel Rail Link   Kent Coast Line   London–Ashford–Dover Line   North Downs Line   Portsmouth Direct Line   South Western Main Line   Thameslink   West Coastway   West of England Main Line
Commuter lines:   Alton Line   Ascot-Guildford Line   Bexleyheath Line   Caterham Line   Catford Loop   Chessington Branch   Dartford Loop   Eastleigh-Fareham Line   Eastleigh-Romsey Line   Greenwich Line   Hayes Line   Hounslow Loop   Mid-Kent Line   New Guildford Line   North Kent Line   Oxted Line   Sheerness Line   Slough-Windsor & Eton Line   South London Line   Staines-Windsor & Eton Line   Staines to Weybridge Line   Sutton Mole Valley Line   Tattenham Corner Line   Waterloo-Reading Line   West London Line
Rural lines:   Brockenhurst-Lymington Line   Henley Branch Line   Island Line   Marlow Branch Line   Marshlink Line   Medway Valley Line   Redhill-Tonbridge Line