New Guildford Line

From TrainSpottingWorld, for Rail fans everywhere
New Guildford Line
Principal stations (from north to south)

Clapham Junction
Hinchley Wood
Cobham & Stoke D'Abernon
Effingham Junction
London Road

The New Guildford Line, now operated by South West Trains, is a commuter line between London and Guildford. It branches off the South Western Main Line just south of Surbiton, at the same point as the short branch line to Hampton Court. The section of the line from Guildford to Effingham Junction is shared by a branch of the Sutton & Mole Valley Line, continuing to London via Leatherhead and Epsom.

Rush hour services are fast and frequent, with one (inbound) morning service and one (outbound) evening service non-stop between Surbiton and Waterloo, but off-peak services run only twice per hour (once on Sundays) and are considerably slower, stopping at intermediate stations between Surbiton and Waterloo. The line is electrified at 750 V DC third rai).

History of the route

The 'New Line' opened in 1885 and electrified in 1925. Template:Sect-stub

Typical journey times from London Waterloo

Based on the December 2006 - May 2007 timetable.
Stations in italics are served by through trains but are not on the New Guildford Line

Destination Peak fast service
Off-peak services
Change for
Vauxhall - 5 London Underground Victoria Line
Clapham Junction - 9 London Victoria, East Croydon, Gatwick Airport, Brighton, Eastbourne, Littlehampton
Earlsfield - 12
Wimbledon - 16 London Underground District Line, Croydon Tramlink, Sutton, Luton, London Blackfriars
Surbiton 18 24 Thames Ditton, Hampton Court
Hinchley Wood 22 28
Claygate 25 31
Oxshott 28 34
Cobham and Stoke D'Abernon 32 38
Effingham Junction 36 42 Bookham, Leatherhead, Epsom
Horsley 39 45
Clandon 44 50
London Road (Guildford) 49 55
Guildford 55 60 Havant, Portsmouth, Aldershot, Ascot, Reading, Redhill, Gatwick Airport


  • ISBN 978-0-9543934-2-7, 'Guildford via Cobham: The Origins and Impact of a Country Railway', Howard Mallinson, 2006

External links


Railway lines in South-East England:
Main lines:   Arun Valley Line   Ashford via Maidstone East Line   Ashford-Ramsgate via Canterbury Line   Brighton Main Line   Chatham Main Line   East Coastway   Hastings Line   Channel Tunnel Rail Link   Kent Coast Line   London–Ashford–Dover Line   North Downs Line   Portsmouth Direct Line   South Western Main Line   Thameslink   West Coastway   West of England Main Line
Commuter lines:   Alton Line   Ascot-Guildford Line   Bexleyheath Line   Caterham Line   Catford Loop   Chessington Branch   Dartford Loop   Eastleigh-Fareham Line   Eastleigh-Romsey Line   Greenwich Line   Hayes Line   Hounslow Loop   Mid-Kent Line   New Guildford Line   North Kent Line   Oxted Line   Sheerness Line   Slough-Windsor & Eton Line   South London Line   Staines-Windsor & Eton Line   Staines to Weybridge Line   Sutton Mole Valley Line   Tattenham Corner Line   Waterloo-Reading Line   West London Line
Rural lines:   Brockenhurst-Lymington Line   Henley Branch Line   Island Line   Marlow Branch Line   Marshlink Line   Medway Valley Line   Redhill-Tonbridge Line