Dartford Loop Line

From TrainSpottingWorld, for Rail fans everywhere
Dartford Loop Line


Hither Green

New Eltham
Albany Park

The Dartford Loop Line is one of three lines linking London with Dartford in Kent, England. It lies to the south of the other two: the North Kent Line and the Bexleyheath Line. It was opened by the South Eastern Railway on 1 September 1866: because there are no major engineering works on the route it took a mere four years to build.

The line was electrified with the other SECR local routes to Dartford on 6th June 1926 by Southern Railway.

The line is a little over 9 miles (14km) in length: the following are the stations served:

  • Hither Green - the station lies on the main line from London to Kent: there are separate platforms for the Loop Line
    • here there is a triangular junction for freight traffic going to the extensive Hither Green freight sidings
  • Lee
  • Mottingham - named Eltham until 1927
  • New Eltham - built in 1878 to serve a growing suburban area; originally named Pope Street
  • Sidcup
  • Albany Park - opened 7 July 1935 to serve a new housing development
  • Bexley (the scene of the Bexley derailment)
  • Crayford
    • here there is a triangular junction with the North Kent Line providing access to the Slade Green carriage sidings and to Dartford.

Trains run from London (Charing Cross and/or Cannon Street): most terminate at Dartford, although two trains an hour serve the line to Gravesend also.

See also

Railway lines in London:
North London:  Dudding Hill Line   Hertford Loop Line   Gospel Oak-Barking Line   North London Line   Northern City Line   Lea Valley Lines  
 St Albans Branch Line   Thameslink   Watford DC Line
East London:  Romford-Upminster Line
South London:  Bexleyheath Line   Bromley North Line   Catford Loop Line   Greenwich Line   Dartford Loop Line
 Hayes Line   Hounslow Loop Line   South London Lines   Tattenham Corner Line   Thameslink
West London:  West London Line
Proposed network: London Overground