Wharfedale Line

From TrainSpottingWorld, for Rail fans everywhere
Jump to: navigation, search
Wharfedale Line
Principal stations
Ben Rhydding
Bradford route: Leeds route:
Baildon Leeds
Bradford Forster Square

The Wharfedale Line is the name given to one of the rail services in the West Yorkshire Metro area of northern England. The service connects Leeds and Bradford with Ilkley, and is operated by Northern Rail. West Yorkshire Metrocards are available for use on the line, covering Zones 3 - 5.

The route

The line was originally owned by the Midland Railway from Leeds to Burley-in-Wharfedale. At this point the line became joint property, with the North Eastern Railway, and was known as the Otley & Ilkley Joint Railway (O&IJt). The two lines from Leeds and Bradford come together at Apperley Junction south of Guiseley

The route from Leeds leaves the main line near Calverley and continues along the Aire valley until climbing a hill to:

The first section of the route from Bradford Forster Square is also used by the Airedale and Leeds-Bradford Line (qv). The service to Ilkley branches north of Shipley railway station to:

  • Baildon railway station a reopened station
  • Esholt: station closed
  • Apperley Junction for the line from Leeds
  • and on to Guiseley, Menston, Burley-in-Wharfedale, Ben Rhydding, and Ilkley

The line was electrified throughout using 25KV AC Overhead between 1994 and 1995.

External links

Railway lines in Northern England:
Main lines:  Cross-Country Route   East Coast Main Line   Midland Main Line   West Coast Main Line
 Chester-Manchester Line    Hope Valley Line   Liverpool-Manchester Line    Manchester-Preston Line   Settle-Carlisle Railway
Commuter lines:  Airedale Line Blackburn-Bolton Line   Caldervale Line   Mid-Cheshire Line   Dearne Valley Line  
 East Lancashire Line   Glossop Line   Hallam Line   Harrogate Line   Huddersfield Line Kirkby Branch Line  
 Lancaster-Heysham Line   Leeds-Bradford Lines   Liverpool-Wigan Line    Manchester Airport Line  
 Manchester-Southport Line   Northern Line   Oldham Loop Line   Northallerton-Eaglescliffe Line  
 Ormskirk Branch Line   Pontefract Line   Sheffield-Hull Line   Sheffield-Lincoln Line   Stockport-Stalybridge Line  
 Wakefield Line   Wharfedale Line   Wirral Line   York & Selby Lines  York-Scarborough Line
Rural lines:  Barton Line   Borderlands Line   Buxton Line   Cumbrian Coast Line   Doncaster-Lincoln Line  
 Durham Coast Line   Esk Valley Line   Tees Valley Line   Furness Line   Hull-York Line   
 Oxenholme-Windermere Line   Penistone Line   Ribble Valley Line   Newcastle and Carlisle Railway  
 Yorkshire Coast Line
Personal tools
September 2017
Events Upcoming
More »