Wakefield Line

From TrainSpottingWorld, for Rail fans everywhere
Jump to: navigation, search
Wakefield Line
Principal stations
Wakefield Westgate
Sandal and Agbrigg
Sheffield route: Doncaster route:
Moorthorpe South Elmsall
Thurnscoe Adwick
Goldthorpe Bentley
Bolton-on-Dearne Doncaster

The Wakefield line is the name given to one of the rail services in the West Yorkshire Metro/ South Yorkshire P.T.E. area of northern England. The service connects Leeds and Wakefield with Sheffield and Doncaster. Part of the Line forms a section of the East Coast Main Line route to London, with electric trains running on services between Leeds and Doncaster. The local stopping service is operated by Northern Rail; it is supplemented by frequent InterCity services between Leeds, Wakefield and either Doncaster or Sheffield. Long distance services using this line as part of longer journeys are run by GNER, Midland Mainline and Virgin CrossCountry trains. Parts of the line over which the Wakefield Line trains run are also used by the Huddersfield and Pontefract Lines.

West Yorkshire Metrocards are available for all trains as far as South Elmsall on the Doncaster line; and to Moorthorpe on the Sheffield part of the Line.


The Route

At the time of the 1923 Grouping the line was owned by different railway companies:

  • Leeds Central station - Wakefield: Great Northern Railway (GNR). Wakefield station was jointly owned by the GNR and Great Central Railways (GCR). This section is part of the main Leeds - London line.
  • Wakefield - Doncaster: West Riding and Grimsby Joint Railway (WRGJt) (joint GNR/GCR ownership).
  • Moorthorpe Junction (near South Elmshall - Swinton: Swinton & Knottingley Joint Railway (MidR/NER).
  • Swinton - Sheffield Midland Railway (MidR)

Leeds Central - Wakefield Westgate

Station Status Other
Beeston Closed as of 2005
Ardsley Tunnel
Ardsley Closed as of 2005
Outwood Open as of 2005, formerly known as Lofthouse and Outwood See below
Wrenthorpe Junction: line to Dewsbury
Wakefield Westgate Openas of 2005, redevelopment planned

At Outwood there were junctions with two joint undertakings:

Wakefield - Doncaster

Some stations on this line may have plans to be reopened.

Sandal - Sheffield

Part of this section is also worked as the Dearne Valley Line:

  • Moorthorpe
  • "Frickley railway station" branch to Frickley Colliery
  • Thurnscoe was Hickleton & Thurnscoe
  • here at Hickleton Junction the line called the Dearne Valley Railway (worked by the L&Y) had a junction with the route
  • Goldthorpe
  • Bolton-on-Dearne
  • here was a junction with the GCR Penistone - Doncaster line.
  • Swinton

From here, towards Sheffield, the Midland and Great Central had parallel lines following the course of the River Don.

  • The lines of the competing companies were so close that in 1965 BR built a new junction complex at Aldwarke; the Wakefield line now follows the former GCR line to reach the reopened Rotherham Central. Intermediate stations were to be found at:
  • Parkgate & Aldwarke railway station (Closed 1951)
  • Rotherham Road railway station (Closed)
  • From Rotherham Central, taking a new curve, the line joins the Sheffield and Rotherham Railway.
  • Meadowhall
  • Brightside
  • From Grimesthorpe Junction the line leaves the S&R and takes the line built in 1870 in order to reach the, then, new Sheffield station of the Midland Railway.
  • Attercliffe Road
  • Sheffield

See also

Railway lines in Northern England:
Main lines:  Cross-Country Route   East Coast Main Line   Midland Main Line   West Coast Main Line
 Chester-Manchester Line    Hope Valley Line   Liverpool-Manchester Line    Manchester-Preston Line   Settle-Carlisle Railway
Commuter lines:  Airedale Line Blackburn-Bolton Line   Caldervale Line   Mid-Cheshire Line   Dearne Valley Line  
 East Lancashire Line   Glossop Line   Hallam Line   Harrogate Line   Huddersfield Line Kirkby Branch Line  
 Lancaster-Heysham Line   Leeds-Bradford Lines   Liverpool-Wigan Line    Manchester Airport Line  
 Manchester-Southport Line   Northern Line   Oldham Loop Line   Northallerton-Eaglescliffe Line  
 Ormskirk Branch Line   Pontefract Line   Sheffield-Hull Line   Sheffield-Lincoln Line   Stockport-Stalybridge Line  
 Wakefield Line   Wharfedale Line   Wirral Line   York & Selby Lines  York-Scarborough Line
Rural lines:  Barton Line   Borderlands Line   Buxton Line   Cumbrian Coast Line   Doncaster-Lincoln Line  
 Durham Coast Line   Esk Valley Line   Tees Valley Line   Furness Line   Hull-York Line   
 Oxenholme-Windermere Line   Penistone Line   Ribble Valley Line   Newcastle and Carlisle Railway  
 Yorkshire Coast Line

The part between the former Manvers coking plant, north of the Dearne, and Sheffield is on the ex-Midland Railway (MR). At Swinton is a trailing connection from the ex-Great Central (GC) Doncaster - Mexborough line. At Aldwarke Junction, between Swinton and Parkgate is a trailing junction from the ex-GC Mexborough - Sheffield line quickly followed by a facing junction with the same line, which local services take in order to stop at Rotherham Central. Leaving they take a BR built curve to reach Holmes Junction and the metals of the Sheffield and Rotherham Railway (later MR), which is taken by express services passing through the closed Rotherham Masborough station (where the 'old road' MR North Midland freight only route to Chesterfield diverges) . The GC between Woodburn Junction, east of Sheffield Victoria and Rotherham, and between Aldwarke Junction and Mexborough is, except for empty passenger stock workings to keep crew route knowledge, freight only.

Personal tools
September 2017
Events Upcoming
More »