Tees Valley Line

From TrainSpottingWorld, for Rail fans everywhere
Jump to: navigation, search

The Tees Valley Line is a name for the railway route between Bishop Auckland and Saltburn via Darlington, Thornaby (for Stockton-On-Tees), Middlesbrough and Redcar. Also operated on the line are service from Newcastle-upon-Tyne to Middlesbrough and Saltburn via Darlington.

The sections of line between Bishop Auckland and the East Coast Mainline and between Dinsdale Station near Middleton St George and Bowesfield Lane in Stockton-On-Tees follow the original route of the Stockton and Darlington Railway.

With the exception of intercity services starting at Middlesbrough and calling at Thornaby, provided by TransPennine Express, all trains along the route are currently operated by Northern Rail. The majority of services are worked by class 142 units, with occasional services provided by class 156 units. Between Darlington and Middlesbrough/Saltburn there is a nearly half-hourly service provided during the daytime, becoming roughly hourly in the evenings. The service to Bishop Auckland is more sparse.

Beyond Bishop Auckland the railway line continues as the Weardale Railway.


Railway lines in Northern England:
Main lines:  Cross-Country Route   East Coast Main Line   Midland Main Line   West Coast Main Line
 Chester-Manchester Line    Hope Valley Line   Liverpool-Manchester Line    Manchester-Preston Line   Settle-Carlisle Railway
Commuter lines:  Airedale Line Blackburn-Bolton Line   Caldervale Line   Mid-Cheshire Line   Dearne Valley Line  
 East Lancashire Line   Glossop Line   Hallam Line   Harrogate Line   Huddersfield Line Kirkby Branch Line  
 Lancaster-Heysham Line   Leeds-Bradford Lines   Liverpool-Wigan Line    Manchester Airport Line  
 Manchester-Southport Line   Northern Line   Oldham Loop Line   Northallerton-Eaglescliffe Line  
 Ormskirk Branch Line   Pontefract Line   Sheffield-Hull Line   Sheffield-Lincoln Line   Stockport-Stalybridge Line  
 Wakefield Line   Wharfedale Line   Wirral Line   York & Selby Lines  York-Scarborough Line
Rural lines:  Barton Line   Borderlands Line   Buxton Line   Cumbrian Coast Line   Doncaster-Lincoln Line  
 Durham Coast Line   Esk Valley Line   Tees Valley Line   Furness Line   Hull-York Line   
 Oxenholme-Windermere Line   Penistone Line   Ribble Valley Line   Newcastle and Carlisle Railway  
 Yorkshire Coast Line
Personal tools
September 2017
Events Upcoming
More »