Harrogate Line

From TrainSpottingWorld, for Rail fans everywhere
Jump to: navigation, search
Harrogate Line
Principal stations
Burley Park
Hornbeam Park
British Rail York to Leeds via Harrogate diagram map.png

The Harrogate Line is the name given to a passenger rail service in the West Yorkshire Metro area of northern England connecting Leeds to York by way of Harrogate and Knaresborough. The service is operated by Northern Rail, with a few additional workings by GNER. MetroCards are available for journeys between Leeds and Horsforth.


The route


The routes over which the Harrogate Line trains now run were opened in the early 1850s by two of the railways which came to be part of the North Eastern Railway: the Leeds Northern Railway and the East and West Yorkshire Junction Railway. At the time of the 1923 Grouping the Harrogate area formed the junction for six routes: the main line was that from Leeds-Northallerton railway; the other lines were to:

The Leeds station at the time was Leeds Central station, jointly owned by the NER and the Lancashire and Yorkshire Railway

Route description

Schematic diagram of the Harrogate Line including closed stations and branch lines, with dates from Daniels G and Dench L A, Passengers No More 2nd ed; London: Ian Allen Ltd 1973

The 62 km line is composed of all or part of the following Network Rail routes:

  • LNE 9 from Leeds
  • LNE 6A from Leeds West Junction
  • LNE 6 from Harrogate
  • LNE 2 from Skelton Junction to York

Currently opened stations in bold.

Poppleton is shown on the Leeds City station destination boards so that passengers don't catch this service all the way to York as it takes 40 minutes longer. Trains travelling in the opposite direction (from York) are shown as going to Burley Park for the same reason.

External link

Railway lines in Northern England:
Main lines:  Cross-Country Route   East Coast Main Line   Midland Main Line   West Coast Main Line
 Chester-Manchester Line    Hope Valley Line   Liverpool-Manchester Line    Manchester-Preston Line   Settle-Carlisle Railway
Commuter lines:  Airedale Line Blackburn-Bolton Line   Caldervale Line   Mid-Cheshire Line   Dearne Valley Line  
 East Lancashire Line   Glossop Line   Hallam Line   Harrogate Line   Huddersfield Line Kirkby Branch Line  
 Lancaster-Heysham Line   Leeds-Bradford Lines   Liverpool-Wigan Line    Manchester Airport Line  
 Manchester-Southport Line   Northern Line   Oldham Loop Line   Northallerton-Eaglescliffe Line  
 Ormskirk Branch Line   Pontefract Line   Sheffield-Hull Line   Sheffield-Lincoln Line   Stockport-Stalybridge Line  
 Wakefield Line   Wharfedale Line   Wirral Line   York & Selby Lines  York-Scarborough Line
Rural lines:  Barton Line   Borderlands Line   Buxton Line   Cumbrian Coast Line   Doncaster-Lincoln Line  
 Durham Coast Line   Esk Valley Line   Tees Valley Line   Furness Line   Hull-York Line   
 Oxenholme-Windermere Line   Penistone Line   Ribble Valley Line   Newcastle and Carlisle Railway  
 Yorkshire Coast Line
Personal tools
September 2017
Events Upcoming
More »