Sunshine Coast Line

From TrainSpottingWorld, for Rail fans everywhere
Sunshine Coast Line is also a colloquial name referring to the Nambour and Gympie North railway line in Queensland, Australia.
Coast Line

SCL Logo
Stations (from west to east)
mainline from London
  Colchester Town (reverse)
  Great Bentley
Clacton                Kirby Cross
Level crossing at Great Bentley station

The Sunshine Coast Line is a railway line linking Colchester to Clacton-on-Sea. There is also a branch line to Walton-on-the-Naze.

The stations served by the route are:

A branch, now closed, just east of Wivenhoe served Brightlingsea

The line then divides to serve either


The trains which serve Clacton are through trains from London, while those which serve Walton start at Colchester on weekdays and Saturdays, but at Thorpe-le-Soken on Sundays.

It began as the Tendring Hundred Railway Company which became the Tendring Hundred Line of the Great Eastern Railway. The line is electrified at 25 kV AC, using overhead wires. Passenger services are operated by 'one'. There are several level crossings on the line and most are still (in 2006) operated by hand.

Railway lines in the East of England:
Main lines: East Coast Main Line   Great Eastern Main Line
Cambridge-King's Lynn "Fen" Line   Cambridge-Norwich "Breckland" Line   Colchester-Clacton "Sunshine Coast" Line
Ely-Peterborough Line   Ipswich-Ely Line   London-Cambridge Line   London, Tilbury & Southend Line
Manningtree-Harwich "Mayflower" Line   Thameslink   West Anglia Main Line   
Commuter lines: Hertford Loop Line   Lea Valley Lines   Northern City Line   Romford-Upminster Line   
Shenfield-Southend Victoria Line   Witham-Braintree Line
Rural lines: Cambridge-Ipswich Line    Crouch Valley Line   East Suffolk Line   Grantham-Skegness Line
Ipswich-Felixstowe Line   Marks Tey-Sudbury "Gainsborough" Line   Norwich-Sheringham "Bittern" Line
Peterborough-Lincoln Line   Thorpe le Soken-Walton "Sunshine Coast" Line   Wherry Lines