Felixstowe Branch Line

From TrainSpottingWorld, for Rail fans everywhere
Felixstowe Branch Line
Principal stations


Derby Road

The Felixstowe Branch Line is a railway line from Ipswich to Felixstowe in Suffolk.

The towns and villages on the line are listed below.

The line follows the East Suffolk Line from Ipswich to Westerfield, and then diverges to the south.

Passenger services are operated by 'one', who replaced the previous franchise Anglia Railways on April 1st 2004. The line is extensively used by freight trains to Felixstowe Docks, operated by EWS, Freightliner and GB Railfreight.

From when the railway line diverges at Westerfield, the line is single track to Felixstowe. However, there is a double track section at Derby Road, long enough to allow two freight trains to pass each other. There are two junctions: one at Trimley station, where the diverging route to Felixstowe Docks parallels the line through a disused platform at Trimley before a sharp turn to the right towards Felixstowe Docks; the other at Felixstowe just under the Maidstone Road bridge, where the line diverges: the left line going a short distance to Felixstowe Station and the right line going along the old Felixstowe Beach Station branch to Felixstowe Docks.

The line has a disused station, Orwell railway station.

The line is not electrified.


The railway is completely track circuited with colour-light signals and is controlled from Colchester PSB. Multiple traffic can use the same section at the same time and freight trains regularly follow behind passenger services.

Railway lines in the East of England:
Main lines: East Coast Main Line   Great Eastern Main Line
Cambridge-King's Lynn "Fen" Line   Cambridge-Norwich "Breckland" Line   Colchester-Clacton "Sunshine Coast" Line
Ely-Peterborough Line   Ipswich-Ely Line   London-Cambridge Line   London, Tilbury & Southend Line
Manningtree-Harwich "Mayflower" Line   Thameslink   West Anglia Main Line   
Commuter lines: Hertford Loop Line   Lea Valley Lines   Northern City Line   Romford-Upminster Line   
Shenfield-Southend Victoria Line   Witham-Braintree Line
Rural lines: Cambridge-Ipswich Line    Crouch Valley Line   East Suffolk Line   Grantham-Skegness Line
Ipswich-Felixstowe Line   Marks Tey-Sudbury "Gainsborough" Line   Norwich-Sheringham "Bittern" Line
Peterborough-Lincoln Line   Thorpe le Soken-Walton "Sunshine Coast" Line   Wherry Lines