Peterborough to Lincoln Line

From TrainSpottingWorld, for Rail fans everywhere
Peterborough-Lincoln Line
Principal stations



Lincoln Central

The Peterborough to Lincoln Line is a railway line linking Peterborough and Lincoln, via Sleaford and Spalding.

The towns and villages served by the route are listed below.

The line is not electrified. The line has since the 1970s been notable for some re-openings. Peterborough Spalding closed on 5th October 1970 to passengers and re-opened on 7th June 1971. North of Spalding, Ruskington re-opened on 5th May 1975. Metheringham followed on 6th October 1975. The route has a regular role as a diversionary line from the East Coast Main Line. Until the closure on the 28th November 1982, the line south of Spalding to March had been regarded as a core element of what was known as the Joint line (created by the Great Northern and Great Eastern Railways) and extending from Doncaster through Gainsborough, Lincoln, Sleaford, Spalding to March (and before 1967 onwards via St Ives to Cambridge).

Railway lines in the East of England:
Main lines: East Coast Main Line   Great Eastern Main Line
Cambridge-King's Lynn "Fen" Line   Cambridge-Norwich "Breckland" Line   Colchester-Clacton "Sunshine Coast" Line
Ely-Peterborough Line   Ipswich-Ely Line   London-Cambridge Line   London, Tilbury & Southend Line
Manningtree-Harwich "Mayflower" Line   Thameslink   West Anglia Main Line   
Commuter lines: Hertford Loop Line   Lea Valley Lines   Northern City Line   Romford-Upminster Line   
Shenfield-Southend Victoria Line   Witham-Braintree Line
Rural lines: Cambridge-Ipswich Line    Crouch Valley Line   East Suffolk Line   Grantham-Skegness Line
Ipswich-Felixstowe Line   Marks Tey-Sudbury "Gainsborough" Line   Norwich-Sheringham "Bittern" Line
Peterborough-Lincoln Line   Thorpe le Soken-Walton "Sunshine Coast" Line   Wherry Lines