Fen Line

From TrainSpottingWorld, for Rail fans everywhere
Fen Line
Principal stations
(from south to north)


Downham Market
King's Lynn

The Fen Line (sometimes Fenline without the space) runs from Cambridge in Cambridgeshire to King's Lynn in Norfolk, in East Anglia, England. It is so called because it runs through The Fens.

The towns and villages served by the route are listed below.

Train services on the line are operated by several train operating companies.

  • First Capital Connect operate through services to London King's Cross via Cambridge and Stevenage. These services operate non-stop between London and Cambridge for most of the day, as part of the half-hourly "Cambridge Cruiser" service. One train an hour is extended beyond Cambridge to serve all stations to King's Lynn. These services usually use Class 365 electrical multiple units, although Class 317 units are used occasionally.
  • There are three "named" units, the first unit (365518) is named "The Fenman" which was previously a "named train" that used to operate on this line, consisting of a locomotive-hauled Inter-City service. The second unit (365531) has been named "Nelson's County - Norfolk", this unit has had a special livery applied to the outside which shows various scenes of West Norfolk. Wagns last naming was unit 365 527, this was named on 10th March 2006 "FLUA 21" after the 21st Anniversary of the Fen Line Users Association

The line is electrified at 25 kV AC, using overhead wires. Electric services started to King's Lynn from 28th August 1992. It has an active User Association which is called the Fen Line Users Association or FLUA

Railway lines in the East of England:
Main lines: East Coast Main Line   Great Eastern Main Line
Cambridge-King's Lynn "Fen" Line   Cambridge-Norwich "Breckland" Line   Colchester-Clacton "Sunshine Coast" Line
Ely-Peterborough Line   Ipswich-Ely Line   London-Cambridge Line   London, Tilbury & Southend Line
Manningtree-Harwich "Mayflower" Line   Thameslink   West Anglia Main Line   
Commuter lines: Hertford Loop Line   Lea Valley Lines   Northern City Line   Romford-Upminster Line   
Shenfield-Southend Victoria Line   Witham-Braintree Line
Rural lines: Cambridge-Ipswich Line    Crouch Valley Line   East Suffolk Line   Grantham-Skegness Line
Ipswich-Felixstowe Line   Marks Tey-Sudbury "Gainsborough" Line   Norwich-Sheringham "Bittern" Line
Peterborough-Lincoln Line   Thorpe le Soken-Walton "Sunshine Coast" Line   Wherry Lines