Liverpool, Southport and Preston Junction Railway

From TrainSpottingWorld, for Rail fans everywhere
Liverpool, Southport and Preston Junction Railway
Principal stations
  Southport Central
  St Luke's
  Meols Cop
  Butts Lane
  Kew Gardens
  Heathey Lane halt
  Shirdley Hill
  New Cut Halt
  Plex Noss Lane halt
  Barton later renamed Downholland
  Junction with Southport & Cheshire Lines Extension
  Altcar and Hillhouse

Liverpool, Southport and Preston Junction Railway, was formed in 1884, and totaled 7 miles. In 1897 it became part of Lancashire and Yorkshire Railway.

It connected the West Lancashire Railway's lines to the north of Southport to the CLC Southport & Cheshire Lines Extension Railway at Altcar and Hillhouse railway station, it became known as the 'Downholland branch'. It ran from 1887 to 19 January 1952.

The short section of line that contains Meols Cop railway station is still open and has replaced a section of the original Manchester and Southport Railway. This northern part was electrified in 1904 and then de-electrified sixty years later.


  • Cotterall, J.E., (1982), The West Lancashire Railway, The Oakwood Press, ISBN 0-85361-288-9
  • Nock, O.S. (1969), The Lancashire and Yorkshire Railway - A Concise History, Ian Allan, ISBN 0-7110-0130-8

External links