Henley Branch Line

From TrainSpottingWorld, for Rail fans everywhere
Henley Branch Line
Stations (from south to north)


The Henley Branch Line is a branch railway line between Twyford, Berkshire and Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire, England. From 2006 it has been marketed under the brand name "Regatta Line". Train operation is by First Great Western.

From a junction with the Great Western Main Line at Twyford railway station, it turns north and goes under the A4 on its way to its next stop at Wargrave. From Wargrave, it crosses the River Thames into Oxfordshire and proceeds to Shiplake, the third stop on the line. Finally, from Shiplake it continues to the town of Henley-on-Thames, where the line terminates.

There is usually around 1 train per hour on this route but this can increase during commuter times.

This line is 4½ miles (7.2 km) long and is not electrified.


The line was opened by the Great Western Railway in 1857. Goods traffic was withdrawn by the Western Region of British Railways in 1964, which also meant the end of steam locomotive working on the branch. Since the privatisation of British Rail it has been operated by Thames Trains and First Great Western Link.


  • Karau, Paul (1982). An illustrated history of the Henley-on-Thames Branch. Wild Swan Publications.  ISBN 0-906867-03-7

External links

Railway lines in South-West England and the "Great Western" zone :
Main lines:  Cross-Country Route   Great Western Main Line
 Cherwell Valley Line   Gloucester-Newport Line   Exeter-Paignton "Riviera" Line   South Wales Main Line  
 Wessex Main Line   West of England Main Line   
Commuter lines:  Severn Beach Line   Slough-Windsor & Eton Line
Rural lines:  Exeter-Barnstaple "Tarka" Line   Exeter-Exmouth "Avocet" Line   Golden Valley Line   Heart of Wessex Line  
 Henley Branch Line   Looe Valley Line   Marlow Branch Line   Par-Newquay "Atlantic Coast" Line  
 St Ives Bay Line   Tamar Valley Line   Truro-Falmouth "Maritime" Line 

Railway lines in South-East England:
Main lines:   Arun Valley Line   Ashford via Maidstone East Line   Ashford-Ramsgate via Canterbury Line   Brighton Main Line   Chatham Main Line   East Coastway   Hastings Line   Channel Tunnel Rail Link   Kent Coast Line   London–Ashford–Dover Line   North Downs Line   Portsmouth Direct Line   South Western Main Line   Thameslink   West Coastway   West of England Main Line
Commuter lines:   Alton Line   Ascot-Guildford Line   Bexleyheath Line   Caterham Line   Catford Loop   Chessington Branch   Dartford Loop   Eastleigh-Fareham Line   Eastleigh-Romsey Line   Greenwich Line   Hayes Line   Hounslow Loop   Mid-Kent Line   New Guildford Line   North Kent Line   Oxted Line   Sheerness Line   Slough-Windsor & Eton Line   South London Line   Staines-Windsor & Eton Line   Staines to Weybridge Line   Sutton Mole Valley Line   Tattenham Corner Line   Waterloo-Reading Line   West London Line
Rural lines:   Brockenhurst-Lymington Line   Henley Branch Line   Island Line   Marlow Branch Line   Marshlink Line   Medway Valley Line   Redhill-Tonbridge Line