Wolverhampton to Shrewsbury Line

From TrainSpottingWorld, for Rail fans everywhere
Wolverhampton-Shrewsbury Line
Principal stations

Telford Central
(for Welsh Marches Line, Cambrian Line
and Shrewsbury to Chester Line)

The Wolverhampton to Shrewsbury Line (previously starting from Birmingham) is the railway line from Wolverhampton to Shrewsbury via Wellington, it was original built by the Shrewsbury and Birmingham Railway. The line is double track throughout, with relief sidings at Cosford and 4 tracks through Wellington station. The line is not electrified beyond Oxley, about a mile from Wolverhampton.

Signalling is centred at Madeley Junction. Towards Wolverhampton, Oxley signal box takes over and towards Shrewsbury, Abbey Foregate Junction signal box.


The towns and villages served by the route are listed below, East to West.

Passenger services

Central Trains and Arriva Trains Wales both operate passenger trains on this line. Some trains go beyond Shrewsbury to Chester or Aberystwyth. Others go beyond Wolverhampton to Birmingham New Street, or Walsall on a separate line. Most of the Walsall trains begin their journey in Wellington, missing out Shrewsbury, but the majority of other trains serve the whole route.

In the near future, the Wrexham, Shropshire and Marylebone Railway TOC will operate on this line.


The Coalbrookdale line, which serves Ironbridge Power Station to the south of Telford near Ironbridge, joins the Wolverhampton-Shrewsbury Line at Madeley Junction, which is between the Telford Central and Shifnal stations. Coal trains (EWS) use the route, supplying the power station.

See also

External links

Railway lines in Central England:
Main lines:  Cross-Country Route   Midland Main Line   West Coast Main Line
 Birmingham-Peterborough via Leicester Line   Birmingham-Worcester via Bromsgrove Line  
 Birmingham-Worcester via Kidderminster Line   Cherwell Valley Line   Chiltern Main Line  
 London-Aylesbury Line   Trent Valley Line   Welsh Marches Line   Wolverhampton-Shrewsbury Line
Commuter lines:  Birmingham-Rugeley "Chase" Line   Birmingham-Stratford Line   Birmingham-Walsall Line  
 Coventry-Nuneaton Line   Cross-City Line   Leicester-Loughborough "Ivanhoe" Line  
 Northampton Loop Line   Robin Hood Line   Rugby-Birmingham-Stafford Line  
 Stourbridge Junction-Stourbridge Town Line   Walsall-Wolverhampton Line 
Rural lines:  Cotswold Line   Crewe-Derby Line   Derwent Valley Line   Leamington-Stratford Line  
 Marston Vale Line   Nottingham-Lincoln Line   Nottingham to Grantham Line  
 Oxford-Bicester Line   Princes Risborough-Aylesbury Line   Shrewsbury-Chester Line