Birmingham to Peterborough Line

From TrainSpottingWorld, for Rail fans everywhere
Birmingham-Peterborough Line
Principal stations

Birmingham New Street
Water Orton
(for West Coast Main Line)
South Wigston
(for Midland Main Line and Ivanhoe Line)
Melton Mowbray
(for East Coast Main Line and Peterborough-Ely line)

The Birmingham to Peterborough Line is an important railway line in the United Kingdom, linking the Midlands to East Anglia. Passenger services are currently provided by Central Trains as part of their Citylink network, serving the following places (Ordnance Survey grid references for stations):

Places Grid references
and other notes
Birmingham (New Street) SP069866
Water Orton SP174912
Nuneaton SP364921
The station was formerly called Nuneaton Trent Valley
Hinckley SP427932
Narborough SP540973
Wigston (South Wigston) SP587986
Leicester SK593040
39 miles 68 chains from Birmingham
The station was formerly called Leicester London Road
Melton Mowbray SK752187
Oakham SK856090
Stamford TF028066
Peterborough TL186989
92 miles 4 chains from Birmingham
The station was formerly called Peterborough North

Over other lines (Ely to Peterbourough, Breckland and West Anglia) services continue beyond Peterborough, via March and Ely to Thetford and Norwich or Wendons Ambo (Audley End) and Stansted Airport. Most run to Stansted. Services for Norwich reverse out of Ely.

Other services using part of the Birmingham to Peterborough Line include Central Trains Birmingham to Leicester local trains. The line also has significant freight flows, being one of the main routes to Birmingham Freightliner Terminal (on the site of Birmingham Lawley Street railway station).

Previous stations on this line include

Railway lines in Central England:
Main lines:  Cross-Country Route   Midland Main Line   West Coast Main Line
 Birmingham-Peterborough via Leicester Line   Birmingham-Worcester via Bromsgrove Line  
 Birmingham-Worcester via Kidderminster Line   Cherwell Valley Line   Chiltern Main Line  
 London-Aylesbury Line   Trent Valley Line   Welsh Marches Line   Wolverhampton-Shrewsbury Line
Commuter lines:  Birmingham-Rugeley "Chase" Line   Birmingham-Stratford Line   Birmingham-Walsall Line  
 Coventry-Nuneaton Line   Cross-City Line   Leicester-Loughborough "Ivanhoe" Line  
 Northampton Loop Line   Robin Hood Line   Rugby-Birmingham-Stafford Line  
 Stourbridge Junction-Stourbridge Town Line   Walsall-Wolverhampton Line 
Rural lines:  Cotswold Line   Crewe-Derby Line   Derwent Valley Line   Leamington-Stratford Line  
 Marston Vale Line   Nottingham-Lincoln Line   Nottingham to Grantham Line  
 Oxford-Bicester Line   Princes Risborough-Aylesbury Line   Shrewsbury-Chester Line