Jōetsu Shinkansen

From TrainSpottingWorld, for Rail fans everywhere
Jōetsu Shinkansen route

Jōetsu Shinkansen (上越 新幹線?) is a high-speed railway line connecting Tokyo and Niigata, Japan, via the Tōhoku Shinkansen, operated by the East Japan Railway Company. It is one of the most complex lines in the Shinkansen network, as it has to cross the mountainous backbone of Honshū Island.

The program was initiated in 1971 by Niigata-born prime minister Tanaka Kakuei. Trial runs over the line began in November 1980, reaching a record 210 km/h in 1981. Regular service began on 1982-11-15. The line was initially planned to terminate at Shinjuku Station, but economic considerations pushed JNR to merge the line with the existing Tōhoku Shinkansen line at Ōmiya.

In September 1991, a 400 Series Shinkansen train set a speed record of 345 km/h on the Jōetsu Shinkansen line, and in December 1993, the STAR21 experimental train managed 425 km/h. The maximum speed for regular services on the line is currently 240 km/h.

Trains and services


Station name in Japanese Distance Location Connections
Tokyo Station 東京 0 Chiyoda, Tokyo Tōkaidō Shinkansen, Tokyo Metro Marunouchi Line, Yamanote Line, Keihin-Tōhoku Line, Chūō Main Line, Tōkaidō Main Line, Yokosuka Line, Sōbu Line, Keiyo Line
Ueno Station 上野 3.6 Taito, Tokyo Jōban Line, Yamanote Line, Keihin-Tōhoku Line, Tōhoku Main Line (Utsunomiya Line), Takasaki Line, Shonan-Shinjuku Line, Tokyo Metro Ginza Line, Tokyo Metro Hibiya Line, Keisei Main Line (Keisei Ueno Station)
Ōmiya Station 大宮 31.3 Omiya-ku, Saitama, Saitama Prefecture Tōhoku Shinkansen, Tobu Noda Line, New Shuttle, Keihin-Tōhoku Line, Saikyo Line, Kawagoe Line, Tōhoku Main Line(Utsunomiya Line), Takasaki Line, Shonan-Shinjuku Line
Kumagaya Station 熊谷 67.9 Kumagaya, Saitama Prefecture Chichibu Railway, Takasaki Line
Honjo-Waseda Station 本庄早稲田 88.0 Honjo, Saitama Prefecture (none)
Takasaki Station 高崎 108.6 Takasaki, Gunma Prefecture Nagano Shinkansen(Hokuriku Shinkansen), Joshin Electric Railway, Takasaki Line, Hachiko Line, Ryomo Line, Joetsu Line, Shin'etsu Line, Agatsuma Line
Jomo-Kogen Station 上毛高原 150.4 Minakami, Gunma Prefecture (none)
Echigo-Yuzawa Station 越後湯沢 182.7 Yuzawa, Niigata Prefecture Joetsu Line, Hokuetsu Express Hokuhoku Line
Urasa Station 浦佐 212.3 Minamiuonuma, Niigata Prefecture Joetsu Line
Nagaoka Station 長岡 245.1 Nagaoka, Niigata Prefecture Shin'etsu Line, Joetsu Line
Tsubame-Sanjo Station 燕三条 268.7 Tsubame and Sanjo, Niigata Prefecture Yahiko Line
Niigata Station 新潟 300.8 Niigata, Niigata Prefecture Shin'etsu Line, Hakushin Line, Echigo Line, Uetsu Main Line(limited express), Ban'etsu West Line

term papers There is also a 1.8 km spur from Echigo-Yuzawa to Gala-Yuzawa Station(ガーラ湯沢), which is used in the winter months to bring passengers to a nearby ski resort.